Image alt text (optional)

Rebar Design Center

Hilti products and solutions to solve the toughest post-installed rebar challenges

Designing post-installed rebar using the development and splice provisions of ACI 318 Chapter 12 and Chapter 21 is not the same as designing post-installed rebar using the anchoring provisions of ACI 318 Appendix D.

Since the bar is being installed at deeper embedments and being used to develop lengths for seismic design, shear dowels and starter bars as well as tension for compression lap splices, reinforcing bar theory must be applied and adhesive anchor systems must be qualified for recognition and use under the 2015 IBC before being used for reinforcing bar installation.

Shear Dowels

Strengthen an existing concrete structure

Strengthening an existing concrete structure through the use of shear dowels is a primary application of post-installed rebar. Though this is commonly done to improve the performance of concrete slabs and structures experiencing earthquake and seismic loads, the application is not limited to geographic areas experiencing these conditions.

Shear dowels are typically used to resist interface shear across a shear plane – the roughened joint between existing and new concrete. The primary shear mechanism – friction across the irregular surface – is enabled by the shear dowels that hold the surfaces together. Therefore, the standard design assumption is that the shear dowels are placed in direct tension as the irregular shear plane is translated laterally.

Image alt text (optional)

Starter Bars

Extend, repair and strengthen existing concrete structures

Post-installed starter bars are used to extend, rehabilitate and strengthen existing concrete bridges, roadways and other common civil engineering structures. These applications often require enhanced resistance to extreme temperatures and corrosion from chemical exposure and naturally occurring ambient conditions.

Starter bars are typically uses to resist tension and shear forces across beam-to-column and column-to-foundation joints. Starter bars are oriented perpendicular to the primary reinforcement of the existing concrete member in which they are installed.

Image alt text (optional)

Tension lap splices

Extension of existing reinforced concrete structures

Extending existing reinforced concrete structures such as slabs, walls and columns is the most common application for post-installed reinforcing bars. This helps facilitate expansion of floor space or address other functional changes in a particular structure. Non-contact tension lap splices in which tension loads are transferred between adjacent bars via compression struts and hoop stresses in the concrete directly surrounding the spliced bars are utilized to develop the yield strength of the new bars.

This application usually involves the installation of a large numbers of bars with close spacing, limited concrete cover and deep embedment depths.

Rebar product solutions

HIT-HY 200 V3

Ultimate-performance injectable hybrid mortar with approvals for anchoring structural steel baseplate and post-installed rebar connections.

Learn more

HIT-RE 500 V3

Ultimate-performance injectable epoxy mortar with approvals for rebar connections and heavy-duty anchoring.

Shop now

HDE 500-22 cordless dispenser

Nuron battery-powered hybrid/epoxy adhesive anchor dispenser with smart features to increase speed, safety and reduce waste.

Shop now

Cordless rotary hammers

With Hilti cordless rotary hammers you can work faster, obtain better installation quality and help boost jobsite safety with virtually dust-free hole cleaning.

Learn more
PROFIS Rebar Design Software

PROFIS Rebar Design Software

Using PROFIS Rebar, our online design tool, you can make quick calculations based on shear friction theory—and arrive at a simple, approved solution for nearly any post-installed rebar application.

Learn more about PROFIS Rebar
Post-Installed Reinforcing Bar Guide

Post-Installed Reinforcing Bar Guide

Comprehensive information on post-installed rebar theory, design, and installation.

View the Post-Installed Reinforcing Bar Guide
ask hilti

Ask Hilti

Ask Hilti is an online community offering continuing education credits and expert advice from top engineering professionals.

Visit Ask Hilti

Share

Image alt text (optional)

Centre technique des barres d'armature

Produits et solutions Hilti pour résoudre les défis les plus difficiles en matière de barres d'armature post-installées

La conception de barres d'armature post-installées à l'aide des dispositions de développement et d'épissure du chapitre 12 et du chapitre 21 de l'ACI 318 n'est pas la même chose que la conception de barres d'armature post-installées à l'aide des dispositions d'ancrage de l'annexe D de l'ACI 318.

Étant donné que la barre est installée à des encastrements plus profonds et utilisée pour développer des longueurs pour la conception sismique, des goujons de cisaillement et des barres de démarrage ainsi que la tension pour les épissures à recouvrement de compression, la théorie des barres d'armature doit être appliquée et les systèmes d'ancrage adhésifs doivent être qualifiés pour être reconnus et utilisés. dans le cadre de l'IBC 2015 avant d'être utilisé pour l'installation de barres d'armature.

Goujons de cisaillement

Renforcement d'une structure de béton existante

Le renforcement d'une structure de béton existante en utilisant des goujons de cisaillement est une application fondamentale concernant les barres d'armature postscellées. Bien qu'elle soit couramment exécutée pour améliorer la performance des dalles de béton et des structures soumises à des séismes et à des forces sismiques, l'application ne se limite pas aux zones géographiques qui sont confrontées à ces conditions.

Les goujons de cisaillement sont généralement utilisés pour s'opposer au cisaillement de l'interface dans tout le plan de cisaillement, à la surface bouchardée de joint entre le béton existant et le nouveau. Le principal mode de cisaillement, le frottement le long de la surface irrégulière, est permis par les goujons de cisaillement qui fixent les surfaces l'une à l'autre. Par conséquent, l'hypothèse de conception standard est que les goujons de cisaillement sont placés en traction directe en raison du mouvement latéral du plan de cisaillement irrégulier.

Image alt text (optional)

Barres de démarrage

Prolonger, réparer et renforcer des structures de béton existantes

Les barres de démarrage postscellées servent à prolonger, réhabiliter et renforcer les ponts en béton, les routes et les autres ouvrages de travaux publics existants. Ces applications nécessitent souvent une résistance élevée aux températures extrêmes et à la corrosion due à l'exposition aux produits chimiques et aux conditions ambiantes naturelles.

Les barres de démarrage servent le plus souvent à s'opposer aux forces de traction et de cisaillement aux joints poutre-colonne et colonne-fondation. Ces barres sont orientées perpendiculairement à l'armature principale du support en béton existant dans lequel on les installe.

Image alt text (optional)

Joints à recouvrement en traction

Prolongement de structures en béton renforcées existantes

Le prolongement des structures en béton renforcées existantes, comme les dalles, les murs et les colonnes est l'application la plus courante pour les barres d'armature postscellées. Cela permet de faciliter l'agrandissement de la surface au sol ou de remédier à d'autres changements fonctionnels dans une structure particulière. Les joints à recouvrement sans contact où la charge de traction est transmise entre les barres adjacentes par des entretoises et la contrainte circonférentielle dans le béton aux alentours immédiats des épissures sont utilisés pour développer la limite élastique des nouvelles barres.

Cette application implique généralement l'installation d'un grand nombre de barres avec un espacement réduit, un faible enrobage de béton et des ancrages profonds.

Solutions de produits pour barres d'armature

HIT-HY 200 V3

Scellement chimique hybride injectable à performance ultime certifié pour les raccords de fers d'armature a posteriori et l'ancrage de platines d'acier structurel.

En savoir plus

HIT-RE 500 V3

Mortier époxy à injection très haute performance disposant des homologations pour la liaison des fers d'armature et pour l'ancrage de charges lourdes.

En savoir plus

Distributeur sans fil HDE 500-22

Distributeur d'ancres adhésives hybrides/époxy alimentées par batterie Nuron avec des fonctionnalités intelligentes pour augmenter la vitesse, la sécurité et réduire les déchets.

En savoir plus

Marteaux perforateurs sans fil

Avec les marteaux perforateurs sans fil Hilti, vous pouvez travailler plus rapidement, obtenir une meilleure qualité d'installation et contribuer à renforcer la sécurité sur le chantier avec un nettoyage des trous pratiquement sans poussière.

En savoir plus
Logiciel de conception PROFIS Rebar

Logiciel de conception PROFIS Rebar

À l'aide de PROFIS Rebar, notre outil de conception en ligne, vous pouvez effectuer des calculs rapides fondés sur la théorie du cisaillement, et arriver à une solution simple et homologuée pour presque toutes les applications de barres d'armature postscellées.

Pour en savoir plus sur PROFIS Rebar
Post-Installed Reinforcing Bar GuideGuide sur les barres d'armature postscellées

Guide sur les barres d'armature postscellées

Les renseignements complets sur la théorie, la conception et l'installation des barres d'armature postscellées.

En savoir plus
ask hilti

Ask Hilti

Ask Hilti est une communauté en ligne offrant des crédits de formation continue et des conseils d'experts des meilleurs professionnels de l'ingénierie.

Visitez Ask Hilti

Partager