Image alt text (optional)

Mass Timber Construction on the Rise

Customers turn to Hilti for mass timber solutions

Mass timber construction has been on the rise in recent years thanks to its many features, such as smaller carbon footprints, faster construction times, and the ability to do more on-site fabrication.

As a result, Hilti is focusing on how to better support this construction type and has become a leader in innovative and efficient pre-fabricated solutions while offering superior options for the firestopping needs of complex mass timber projects.

Firestop support and solutions

Firestop is often an important design consideration in mass timber projects. Passive fire protection is vital for creating a safer and model code-compliant building. Hilti offers a variety of solutions that can be installed in pre-fabricated timber elements. This means you can install firestop in pre-fabricated timber elements before they leave the factory — helping to reduce construction time on site by as much as half.

Firestop in mass timber testing

Please enter alternative text here (optional)

Model building codes require firestop systems to be tested and approved and all firestop systems must be based on testing. Until recently, there were no listed firestop systems for mass timber in North America, and engineering judgments were frequently needed to address mass wood timber firestop applications.

Hilti is the first organization in the world to develop listed and certified firestop systems in cross-laminated timber (CLT) in accordance with ASTM and UL standards. Our extensive testing data in mass timber, along with successful testing of firestop solutions in CLT at Intertek, has paved the way for Intertek listed systems.

Hilti now has five firestop Listings for Mass Timber in Accordance with ASTM E814/UL 1479. These through penetration systems include testing for metallic pipes, nonmetallic pipes, cables and HVAC lines.

Learn more about industry first mass timber firestop listings

Download the new mass timber listings

     
HI/PF 120-07 – Through-penetration firestop system DWG PDF
HI/PF 120-08 – Through-penetration firestop system DWG PDF
HI/PF 120-09 – Through-penetration firestop system DWG
PDF
HI/PF 120-10 – Through-penetration firestop system DWG PDF
HI/PF 120-11 – Through-penetration firestop system DWG PDF

Firestop products

CP 653 Speed Sleeve

Good for firestopping cable penetrations for single and bundled cables, and superior smoke tightness and airflow control thanks to its twisting mechanism

Shop now

CFS-DID MD Drop-in Device

An all-in-one solution for renovation, retrofit and new construction

Shop now

FS-ONE MAX Firestop Intumescent Sealant

High-performance intumescent sealant for sealing most common through penetrations in a variety of base materials, including mass timber.

Shop now

The power of cordless

Hilti’s state-of-the-art cordless tools are perfect for tackling mass timber projects with added safety and mobility thanks to the elimination of power cords. Some of our newest cordless saws and drills are a perfect complement to your mass timber construction needs.

Cordless reciprocating saw SR 6-A22

Shop now

Cordless orbital jigsaw SJT 6-A22

Shop now

Cordless drill driver SF 10W-A22 with Active Torque Control

Shop now

Additional Resources

Thanks to the on-site support from our firestop engineers, we help reduce risk and increase productivity during construction. We test our firestop range with custom solutions from leading wood manufacturers. This helps customers worldwide to build in accordance with project requirements. 

Share

Image alt text (optional)

La construction de bois massif est à la hausse

Les clients se tournent vers Hilti pour des solutions de bois massif

La construction de bois massif a augmenté au cours des dernières années grâce à un grand nombre de ses caractéristiques, p. ex. empreinte carbone réduite, temps de construction réduits et possibilité accrue de fabrication sur place.

Résultat : Hilti vise à mieux appuyer ce type de construction, devenant un chef de file en solutions préfabriquées innovantes et efficaces offrant des options de qualité supérieure quant aux besoins en matière de coupe-feu des projets de bois massif complexes.

Soutien et solutions coupe-feu

Les coupe-feu sont souvent un élément de conception important des projets de bois massif. La protection passive contre le feu est primordiale pour créer un édifice-témoin qui soit plus sûr et conforme au code. Hilti offre une variété de solutions qui peuvent être installées dans les éléments de bois préfabriqués. Ce qui veut dire que vous pouvez installer un coupe-feu dans des éléments de bois préfabriqués avant qu’ils quittent l’usine — aidant à réduire le temps de construction presque de moitié.

Coupe-feu dans des essais de bois massif

Please enter alternative text here (optional)

Les codes d’édifices-témoins exigent que les systèmes coupe-feu soient testés et approuvés et que tous les systèmes coupe-feu soient basés sur des essais. Jusqu’à récemment, il n’y avait pas de systèmes coupe-feu homologués pour le bois massif en Amérique du Nord et il fallait souvent des jugements d’ingénieurs pour déterminer les applications coupe-feu de bois massif.

Hilti est la première organisation au monde à développer des systèmes coupe-feu homologués et certifiés de bois lamellé-croisé (CLT) conformes aux normes ASTM et UL. Nos données d’essai exhaustives sur le bois massif, ainsi que nos essais réussis de solutions coupe-feu de CLT chez Intertek, ont tracé la voie pour les systèmes homologués Intertek.

Hilti compte maintenant cinq homologations coupe-feu pour le bois massif conformes aux normes ASTM E814/UL 1479. Ces systèmes de traversée incluent des essais sur les tuyaux métalliques, les tuyaux non métalliques, les câbles et les conduites CVCA.

Apprenez-en davantage sur les premières homologations coupe-feu de bois massif de l’industrie

Télécharger les nouvelles homologations de bois massif

     
HI/PF 120-07 – Système coupe-feu de traversée DWG PDF
HI/PF 120-08 – Système coupe-feu de traversée DWG PDF
HI/PF 120-09 – Système coupe-feu de traversée
DWG
PDF
HI/PF 120-10 – Système coupe-feu de traversée
DWG PDF
HI/PF 120-11 – Système coupe-feu de traversée
DWG PDF

Produits coupe-feu

CP 653 Manchon rapide

Pour des traversées de câble coupe-feu pour câbles simples et faisceaux de câbles et une étanchéité à la fumée, ainsi qu’un contrôle de la circulation d’air de qualité supérieure grâce à son mécanisme torsadé.

Acheter maintenant

Appareil CFS-DID MD inséré

Solution tout-en-un pour la rénovation, la modernisation et la nouvelle construction.

Acheter maintenant

Scellant intumescent coupe-feu FS-ONE MAX

Scellant intumescent haute performance pour sceller la plupart des traversées les plus usuelles en une variété de matériaux, y compris le bois massif.

Acheter maintenant

La puissance des outils sans–fil

Les outils sans fil de pointe de Hilti sont parfaits pour les projets de bois massif grâce à une sécurité et à une mobilité accrues redevables à l’élimination des cordons électriques. Certaines de nos dernières scies et perceuses sans fil sont le complément parfait de vos besoins en matière de construction de bois massif.

Scie alternative sans fil SR 6-A22

Acheter maintenant

Scie sauteuse orbitale SJT 6-A22

Acheter maintenant

Visseuse-perceuse sans fil SF 10W-A22 avec contrôle de couple actif

Acheter maintenant

Ressources supplémentaires

Grâce au soutien sur place de nos ingénieurs coupe-feu, nous aidons à réduire les risques et à augmenter la productivité en cours de construction. Nous testons notre gamme coupe-feu par des solutions sur mesure provenant d’importants fabricants de bois. Ceci aide nos clients partout au monde à construire conformément aux exigences des projets. 

Partager